Andrew Huberman's Routine, From His Newsletters
Last verified against sources 5 primary sources12 sourced items
- 12sourced items
- 5primary sources
- 5supplements
- 0devices
- Morning1
- Midday1
- Night5
Plus 5 items with no publicly stated time, listed below.
Not medical advice. This page reports what was publicly said, not what you should do. Talk to a qualified clinician before changing your diet, supplements, sleep or exercise.
Summary
What Andrew Huberman has said about his own routine in four of his Neural Network newsletters (September 2021 to September 2024). AG1 and (as of 2024) LMNT are Huberman Lab sponsors, and his newsletter gives a 20%-off Momentous link. The quoted statements date from 2021 to 2024, except the Momentous line, which appears in the current version of his sleep toolkit.
Everything below is what Andrew Huberman has publicly said, quoted and linked to the original source, with the date it was stated or, for an undated page, the date we accessed it. Gaps are marked “not publicly stated”. Andrew Huberman has not reviewed or endorsed this page.
By time of day
Only items where the source states a time of day. Doses exactly as stated.Morning
1- Trains fasted, before noonexerciseNot publicly stated
Midday
1- Afternoon napssleep30 min most afternoons… maybe 45 min, but never longer
Night
5- Magnesium threonate or magnesium bisglycinate (sleep toolkit list)supplement145mg Magnesium Threonate or 200mg Magnesium Bisglycinate
- Apigenin (sleep toolkit list)supplement50mg
- Theanine (sleep toolkit list)supplement100-400mg
- Glycine and GABAsupplement2g of Glycine and 100mg GABA
- Static stretching at nightexerciseNot publicly stated
Plus 5 items with no publicly stated time
- Momentous (the brand he names for his sleep-toolkit supplements)
- Caffeine amount (2024)
- Caffeine at 2 pm, asleep around 10–11 pm (2021)
- No direct chest training (dips instead)
- Hot shower after cold exposure
Supplements
| Product & quote | Dose (as stated) | Source & date | Product link |
|---|---|---|---|
Momentous (the brand he names for his sleep-toolkit supplements)His newsletter gives a 20%-off Momentous link“I use supplements from Momentous for all of the above.” | Not publicly stated | As stated in Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter), current version [1] | No product link |
Magnesium threonate or magnesium bisglycinate (sleep toolkit list)“145mg Magnesium Threonate or 200mg Magnesium Bisglycinate” | 145mg Magnesium Threonate or 200mg Magnesium Bisglycinate | As stated in Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter) [5] | No product link |
Apigenin (sleep toolkit list)“50mg Apigenin” | 50mg | As stated in Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter) [5] | No product link |
Theanine (sleep toolkit list)“100-400mg Theanine” | 100-400mg | As stated in Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter) [5] | No product link |
Glycine and GABA“(3-4 nights per week I also take 2g of Glycine and 100mg GABA.)” | 2g of Glycine and 100mg GABA | As stated in Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter) [5] | No product link |
Devices
No devices publicly stated.
Diet
- Caffeine amount (2024)100 to 300 milligrams
“I weigh ~100 kilograms (220 pounds) so a tolerable dose of caffeine is 100 to 300 milligrams. However, I often consume more than that since I'm quite caffeine-adapted.”
As stated in Use Caffeine for Mental & Physical Performance (Neural Network newsletter) [2]
Sleep
- Caffeine at 2 pm, asleep around 10–11 pm (2021)
“I do fine with caffeine at 2 pm and I go to sleep at ~10-11 pm.”
As stated in Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter) [5] - Afternoon naps30 min most afternoons… maybe 45 min, but never longer
“I tend to nap for 30 min most afternoons… maybe 45 min, but never longer.”
As stated in Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter) [5]
Exercise
- Trains fasted, before noon
“I like to train fasted and before noon but after drinking caffeine, water and electrolytes”
As stated in Foundational Fitness Protocol (Neural Network newsletter) [3] - No direct chest training (dips instead)
“I confess I never train my chest, but I do get enough chest training from dips.”
As stated in Foundational Fitness Protocol (Neural Network newsletter) [3] - Static stretching at night
“I do this at night before sleep or while waiting for dinner to cook”
As stated in Foundational Fitness Protocol (Neural Network newsletter) [3]
Other
- Hot shower after cold exposure
“I prefer to take a hot shower and towel dry after cold exposure”
As stated in The Science & Use of Cold Exposure for Health & Performance (Neural Network newsletter) [4]
Editor’s notes
Commercial ties. Three brands have a commercial link to Huberman Lab or its newsletter:
- Momentous: his sleep toolkit in its current version (page updated July 2026) says he uses Momentous for the listed sleep supplements and gives a 20%-off Momentous link.
- AG1: The current versions of his Foundational Fitness Protocol and cold exposure newsletter pages carry the header “This newsletter is sponsored by AG1” (pages updated July 2026; the header is not on the 2022 versions).
- LMNT: his September 2024 caffeine newsletter says “Note: LMNT is a Huberman Lab sponsor”.
Personal use versus lists. The magnesium, apigenin and theanine items come from a list in his sleep toolkit. The current version of that newsletter ties them to his own use only through the line “I use supplements from Momentous for all of the above.” (the 2021 version named Thorne instead). The glycine and GABA line in the same newsletter is in the first person.
What changed. The clearest dated shift is around caffeine. His 2024 newsletter gives a longer pre-bed cutoff (10–12 hours) than the 2021 sleep toolkit (8–10 hours). It also frames delaying caffeine after waking as optional (“but otherwise, caffeine first thing is A-OK”). All of these are cited in the timeline above.
Dates. Nearly every first-person statement here is from September 2021 to November 2022 (sleep toolkit, cold exposure, fitness protocol). The exceptions are a single 2024 caffeine line and the Momentous line, which appears only in the current (July 2026) version of the sleep toolkit.
Changelog
Changes we’ve found Andrew Huberman publicly describing, each with its source and, where stated, its date.- : His September 2024 caffeine newsletter says: "Note: LMNT is a Huberman Lab sponsor". Source: Use Caffeine for Mental & Physical Performance (Neural Network newsletter), dated Sep 4, 2024 [2]
- : His 2024 caffeine newsletter frames delaying caffeine after waking as optional ("but otherwise, caffeine first thing is A-OK"). Source: Use Caffeine for Mental & Physical Performance (Neural Network newsletter), dated Sep 4, 2024 [2]
- : His 2024 caffeine newsletter gives a longer cutoff ("Avoid drinking caffeine within 10-12 hours of bedtime."). His own 2021 habit of caffeine at 2 pm and sleep around 10–11 pm is a gap of about 8–9 hours. Source: Use Caffeine for Mental & Physical Performance (Neural Network newsletter), dated Sep 4, 2024 [2]
- : His 2021 sleep toolkit gives a caffeine cutoff of 8–10 hours before bedtime ("Avoid caffeine within 8-10 hours of bedtime"). Source: Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter), dated Sep 20, 2021 [5]
Sources
Every dot is a source listed in full below, with its title, type and date.
- Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter), current version
- Use Caffeine for Mental & Physical Performance (Neural Network newsletter)
- Foundational Fitness Protocol (Neural Network newsletter)
- The Science & Use of Cold Exposure for Health & Performance (Neural Network newsletter)
- Toolkit for Sleep (Neural Network newsletter)
Last verified:
Spotted an error or an outdated item? See corrections.